About the NZeTA

The New Zealand eTA is an Electronic Travel Authority for travelers who wish to visit New Zealand for short-term stays of up to 90 days from the date of arrival, with the exception of British nationals who can stay for a period of up to 6 months. The NZeTA is granted through an online application system. It was introduced to simplify visa processes for citizens of eligible countries who want to travel to and within New Zealand for short-term stays.

The NZeTA can be obtained by completing a simple and straightforward online application form. Applicants must provide their personal details, travel information and passport data. For those who are travelling for tourism purposes the payment will include the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL). Australian permanent residents are not required to pay the IVL.

eTA New Zealand Authorized Stay and Validity

The New Zealand eTA grants visitors a stay of up to ninety (90) days in New Zealand.

Travelers can apply for the New Zealand eTA at any time before their expected departure date. Most applications will be processed within 1 business day, however some applications may take longer to process, up to 3 business days. The NZeTA has a validity of 2 years from the moment of approval and can be used for multiple entries.

Passport guidelines for the NZeTA

Applicants must have a valid passport, which must have a minimum validity of three (3) months beyond the expected date of departure. New Zealand eTA holders will be granted a 90-day stay at one of the designated ports of entry in New Zealand.

List of countries eligible to apply for an online NZeTA

Citizens and nationals from the countries listed below are eligible to apply online for a New Zealand eTA, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, Germany, South Korea and Canada. Australian citizens do not need an NZeTA to enter New Zealand. Australian Permanent residents can also apply for an NZeTA. Some countries may only apply for Transit. Find out if you qualify for an NZeTA by filling out the application form.

Afghanistan Albania Algeria Andorra Angola
Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Austria Azerbaijan
Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus
Belgium Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria
Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada
Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China
Colombia Comoros Congo, The Democratic Republic of the Costa Rica Cote D'Ivoire
Croatia Cuba Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti
Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Fiji
Finland France Gabon Gambia Georgia
Germany Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala
Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras
Hong Kong, China Hungary Iceland India Indonesia
Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Israel Italy
Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya
Kiribati Korea North Korea South Kuwait Kyrgyzstan
Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Liberia Libya Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar
Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta
Marshall Islands Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Micronesia, Federated States of
Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Morocco
Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal
Netherlands Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norway
Oman Pakistan Palau Palestinian Territory Panama
Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland
Portugal Qatar Republic of Cyprus Romania Russian Federation
Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa
San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia
Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia
Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Sudan Spain
Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden
Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan, China Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of
Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia Turkey Tuvalu Ukraine United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu
Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam Yemen Zambia

A citizen with a valid passport from one of the eligible countries in this list can apply online contact us for a travel authority to visit New Zealand.

Documentation requirements:

Applicants need to provide personal details, passport and travel information. The applicant’s passport must be from an eligible country. When completing the application, the traveler must use a passport with a minimum validity of three (3) months beyond the expected date of departure.

The following documents will be necessary to complete the application for the New Zealand eTA

  • Valid passport of an eligible country

Requirements to enter New Zealand

Upon arrival in New Zealand, the NZeTA holder can go directly to the dedicated lane for eTA travelers and must present the following:

  • A printed copy of the New Zealand eTA
  • The passport used during the online application form
  • Australian permanent residents will need to present their current Australian permanent resident visa.

Check Status of your New Zealand eTA

Once the applicant has submitted the online application, all New Zealand eTA notifications and updates will be sent by email.

The processing time of a New Zealand electronic travel authority is within 1 business day, however some applications may take longer to process, up to 3 business days.

To check the status of your New Zealand application, please contact us.

Online Application for the NZeTA

To apply online for a NZeTA, applicants must have a valid passport, email address, and a credit or debit card.

All of the information provided on the New Zealand application form, such as first and last names, place and date of birth, address, sex, passport number, and nationality, must be exactly as they appear on the applicant’s passport.

All eligible applicants can click contact us to complete the New Zealand eTA application online.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree